The Pau Grand récompenses is one of the oldest street races in Europe and one ns the key moment of auto season in the lower ranks du formula racing.

Vous lisez ce: Grand prix historique de pau 2017

The beginning

Since 1930, the streets de the city in the french Pyrenees are the venue ns exciting motorsport donnant that each année attracts substantial attendance. This occasion is often contrasted with the famous Formula 1 Monaco Grand awards which to be held à la the first time in 1929.

Start du the 1935 vaste Prix ns Pau

First motorsport occasions in thé region were hosted at the beginning de the 20th century conditions météorologiques the roadways around the Pyrenees cible the first dénormes Prix, in a kind that is calmer present today, for the tons time was held in 1930.

Actually, it was european Championship French énormément Prix, while thé Pau vaste Prix pour the first time was held in 1933. Interestingly, the Grand awards that year was hosted at snow! In 1935 thé present arttasters was established and since then remained nearly unchanged.

Challenging layout, virtually unchanged because 1935

Nowadays cette is 2.769 kilomètre long counter-clockwise route with 15 turns, located roughly the se garer Beaumont in the heart de the city. The spectators are very fermé to the travail and can enjoy in one of the greatest motorsport manifestation in the world. With the combination of twists and turns, camber changes et kerb-ridden chicanes, drivers et their cars room put conditions météorologiques a actual challenge.

A exceptional feature de the piste is auto grandstand i m sorry lines thé start-finish straight. The grandstand that overhangs a river which operation alongside the circuit is assembled each année from a kits of concrete and metal beams.


Layout de the Pau Grand récompenses circuit

Over thé years, thé layout of the circuit was changed several temps while plenty of stars de that time, favor Tazio Nuvolari, Rene Dreyfus, Hermann Lang et Rudolf Caracciola, participated regularly. During the World battle 2 auto Pau Grand awards wasn’t held. In 1947 the course returned to thé calendar et still was an extremely popular amongst both drivers and fans. One de the Pau Grand awards winners to be Juan guide Fangio, who triumphed in 1949.

Formula 2 and Formula 3000 years

When the FIA civilization Championship of Drivers was established in 1950, the Pau Grand prix wasn’t consisted of in auto championship calendar but over thé years was one de the F1 non-championship races, as well as part ns the Formula 2 championship. Plenty of famous chauffeurs won thé race at Pau.

Voir plus: Panda À 1 Euro Par Mois: Comment Fait Fiat Panda 1 Euro Par Mois

Jim Clark scored his maiden win driving a Formula 1 car there in 1961. Jack Brabham, Maurice Trintignant, Jochen Rindt, Jackie Stewart, péter Gethin, Eddie Cheever, Jacques Laffite, Mike Thackwell, and Rene Arnoux also were among the winners du Pau Grand récompenses Formula 2 races, if many différent legends, including Graham Hill, Denny Hulme, Emerson Fittipaldi, Henri Pescarolo, Jean-Pierre Jabouille, et Francois Cevert participated in auto period from the 1960s to mid 1980s.


Jim Clark was thé winner du Pau Grand récompenses four times

When Formula 3000 replaced Formula 2 oui the feeder series to Formula 1, thé Grand awards of Pau continued to be a part of the europe Championship. Till 1998, auto Pau Grand prix still was the action-packed occasions with countless spectacular accidents and incidents. Many future stars participated with the various success – Juan Pablo Montoya won the gyeongju twice while blue jeans Alesi also was amongst those who won thé prestigious event.

Formula 3 and the WTCC races ont the henchmen events

In 1999 Formula 3000 was replaced with thé newly-formed european Formula le 3 Championship. That year the course was shortened venir 40 protocole instead ns 90 minutes. Until 2006 ce was one de the most important races ns the Formula 3 Euroseries et again many en vigueur stars reached auto top spot conditions météorologiques the podium – Anthony Davidson, Nicolas Lapierre, Lewis Hamilton and Romain Grosjean.


Part du the Pau Grand prix circuit

The formats of the course again was changed in 2007. Till 2009, ce was Race of France, part ns the people Touring car Championship. Augusto Farfus and alain Menu won the course twice when Andy Priaulx et Rob Huff won once.

The municipality late in 2009 decided à cancel thé race à la financial reasons, soja the Grand awards was suspended in 2010, and the WTCC to be no longer a participant going forward.


The FIA WTCC course at Pau énormément Prix, 2009

The gyeongju was revitalized in 2011 with thé return de various formula gyeongju categories et the FIA Formula 3 international Trophy as the henchmen event et with Formula Renault 2.0 Series, français F4 Championship et other minor series as the supporting events. A venir DTM champion Marco Wittmann winner the cours that year.

Historic vaste Prix

Since 2001, historic cars races space held une week avant or after the “modern” énormément Prix. Auto visitors have a good opportunity à see assorted racing cars from different periods – from thé 1950s and 1960s Formula 2 cars, old GT et touring course cars, Mini Coopers, Grand awards cars avant WW2 and many différent oldtimers.

Voir plus: Hotels Near Grotte De La Madeleine Saint-Remèze, Grotte De La Madeleine

Over auto years Pau historic Grand prix has come to be one ns the highlights ns the historical racing calendar in thé world et one of the couple of opportunities to sample such cars nous a track unchanged native their d’origine era.

Video – A lap around Pau Grand awards circuit

Address: Circuit de Pau-Ville, ASAC Basco Bearnais, Palais D’Aragon, Bd D’Aragon, Pau F-64000, FrancePhone: +33 5 59 27 31 89Website: